Sharing Options

Using Your Prototypes

Overview

In this topic you can find information about how to share what you need on indigodesigned.com and all the options available when sharing. You can also check out Sharing Your Prototypes.

What do you want to share?

Sharing a prototype

When you share a prototype you'll publish the home screen and all its linked screens.

Action Looks like
Click the Share Prototype button in the Project Home.
Select the Share as Prototype option from the Project tab context menu.

Sharing a screenpart library

This will publish all the screenparts in your project.

Action Looks like
Click the Share Library button in the Project Home. You'll see this button when your project only has screenparts.
Display the dropdown options and choose Share Library.

Sharing selected files

Goal Action Looks like
Sharing specific files or all files Select them in the Project Homeand click the Share Selected button.
Sharing a screen and its linked screens Select the Share as Prototype option from the Screen tab context menu.
Sharing a screenpart and its inner screenparts Select the Share as Library option from the Screenpart tab context menu.
On Mac OS X, you can also use the share menu in the OS X menu bar to export the currently selected design. Share -> Share Current Design as Prototype.

Checking the Include linked screens option in the share dialog will include screens outside your selection but reachable through links in the prototype. This way you make sure there are no broken links in your share. When viewing the prototype, use the table of contents in the Prototype Viewer to get to screens that are not reachable through links in your share.

Starting point for the share

The starting point is the first screen that viewers of your prototype will see when they access it. You can see its thumbnail marked with a home icon in the Project Home.

If you do not have a starting point set for the selected screens, Indigo will ask you to choose one. You can also change the starting point from the share dialog if you already have one.

To choose the starting point for your prototype, simply click on one of the screens to mark it with the home icon.

New share vs. replace

You'll create a new share when:

  • it's the first time you're sharing something belonging to the project.
  • you want a new URL for your share.
  • you want to share a different group of files from what you've shared before.

You'll replace an existing share when you want to create a new version of an existing share. Remember your reviewers already have the URL.

Select one of the items of the list of previous shares to replace and then click the Replace Prototype button.

Share settings

Setting Description
Workspace Choose between your personal workspaces or any group workspace you're a member of.
Name There's a default name based on the project name.
Description Optional description for your share.
Password protection A share with no password will be available for anyone with the URL.
Tags For community shares, Indigo will make suggestions based on community tags. For private shares, Indigo will make suggestions based on tags from your previous shares.

Review and commenting options

Option Description Default
Annotations Displays notes, arrows and callouts from the annotation layer. Doesn't apply to mobile devices. On
Highlight interactions Displays a highlight for elements with interactions. Off
Commenting Allows reviewers to post comments on your prototype. Not available for community shares. On

If you want to read more about how to use the prototype viewer, see Viewing Your Prototypes.

Learn More